Sleep stages

In what order do the sleep stages occur?

It depends on the time in the sleep cycle.

1 Like

Here’s a little more about the sleep stages!

Sleep Stages 1 & 2 :thought_balloon:

During early, light sleep (stages 1-2) the brain enters a high-amplitude, slow, regular wave form called theta waves (5-8 cps). A person who is daydreaming shows theta activity.

Sleep Stages 3 & 4 :zzz:

During deepest sleep (stages 3-4), brain activity slows down. There are large-amplitude, slow delta waves (1.5-4 cps) in this sleep stage.

Sleep Stage 5 :eyes:

This stage of sleep is REM sleep. A person during this sleep stage exhibits Rapid Eye Movements and reports vivid dreams. After reaching the deepest sleep stage (4), the sleep cycle starts moving back towards stage 1. Although still asleep, the brain engages in low-amplitude, fast and regular beta waves (15-40 cps) much like awake-aroused state.

Hope this helps!

1 Like

Thank you, this was very helpful!

No problem! :slight_smile:

Fiveable Logo

2550 north lake drive
suite 2
milwaukee, wi 53211



about for students for parents for teachers for schools & districts content team privacy contact


🥇 2020 Fiveable Olympics study plans upcoming events trivia hypertyper resources cram passes


community tiktok discord twitter instagram facebook careers

*ap® and advanced placement® are registered trademarks of the college board, which was not involved in the production of, and does not endorse, this product.

© fiveable 2020 | all rights reserved.